Texas SAR Presidents

Thanks to the contributed research of Compatriot John Greer, there is a wealth of information that can be presented about the Texas SAR Past Presidents.  Click on any name in red to see the general data about that president.  Additional links will be available at the bottom of the general data for possibly a picture, SAR bio, obituary, death certificate, and/or a link to their Find-A-Grave page, depending on what is available.  You can return to viewing this page by clicking anywhere outside the information box, clicking the X at the top right of the information box, or by pressing your Esc key.

Graphics such as obituaries and death certificates are too large to be presented in the information box, so they are presented as independent graphics without the constraint of a web page.  When viewing these documents, press your browser's Back button to return to this page.

If you have missing information on any Past President that you have found to be present for others or you think that a correction needs to be made, please contact Compatriot John Greer (johnlgreer@juno.com) with your information and request.  He will be the clearinghouse for any information presented here.

Note:  This page is a work in progress and information is being added as time permits.  The data pages are not yet responsive, so best viewing will be in a desktop, laptop, or large tablet until this is completed.

1896-1902 Hon. Ira H. Evans
1903-1904 Col. L. J. Polk
1905 Col. I. M. Standifer
1906-1907 George T. Jester
1908-1909 William F. Beers
1910 Gen. J. R. Waties
1911-1912 William G. Bell
1913-1917 Edward F. Harris
1918-1922 C. B. Dorchester
1923 John C. Harris
1924-1927 Samuel P. Cochran
1928-1929 Robert W. Humphreys
1930 Edwin L. Porch
1931 Edward M. Polk
1932 T. D. Hobart
1933 F. F. Downs
1934 Charles J. Maxwell
1935 Dr. Valin R. Woodward
1936 Albert Calhoun McDavid
1937 Judge Joe Ingraham
1938 Tom T. Connally
1939 Sully D. Roberdeau
1940 H. P. Eller * 
1941 Benjamin H. Powell, III * 
1942 Benton C. Collins * 
1943 James F. Dabney * 
1944 John M. Spellman * 
1945-1946 Robert W. Thompson
1947-1948 Charles E. Gilbert, Jr. * 
1948-1949 A. Frank Hamm * 
1948-1949 Edgar E. Townes * 
1949-1950 Homer E. Carrico * 
1950-1951 Robert P. Waggener * 
1950-1951 Arthur P. Van Horn * 
1951-1952 Clifford B. Jones * 
  Earle D. Behrends
1952-1953 Earle D. Behrends * 
1953-1954 John B. Victery * 
1954-1955 Col. F. W. Huntington * 
1955-1956 Charles H. Lane * 
1956-1957 Col. P. E. Heisig, Jr. * 
  William M. C. Cecil * 
1957-1958 Francis Gilmer
  Frank G. Harmon * 
1958-1959 Col. Roye A. Mulholland * 
1959-1960 Col. J. Huntington Hills * 
1960-1961 Robert S. Sonfield, Sr. * 
1961-1962 Chalmers W. Hutchison * 
1962-1963 Judge Joe M. Hill, Sr. * 
1963-1964 Louis L. Casten * 
1964-1965 Walter G. Sterling * 
1965-1966 Christopher Larkin * 
1966-1967 Joseph B. Latimer * 
1967-1968 Benjamin D. Baldwin * 
1968-1969 LTC R. S. D. Lockwood * 
1969-1970 Col. Turner R. Sharp * 
1970-1971 Col. Thomas T. Currie, Sr. * 
1971-1972 BG Graber Kidwell * 
1972-1973 Oliver B. Chamberlin * 
1973-1974 Col. Karl E. Wallace, Sr. * 
1974-1975 George P. Red * 
1975-1976 Col. Joe M. Hill, Jr. * 
1976-1977 William T. Barron * 
1977-1978 MG Louis J. Rummagi * 
1978-1979 Richard Lane Denham * 
1979-1980 Alfred Henry Benjamin * 
1980-1981 Dan B. Meadows, III, DVM
1981-1982 LTC Kenneth E. Ingram * 
1982-1983 Clovis H. Brakebill * 
1983-1984 Robert Carl Tumey, Sr.
1984-1985 Dr. George H. Brandau * 
1985-1986 William R. Eddleman * 
1986-1987 Dr. Robert L. Kurth * 
1987-1988 LTG John M. Wright, Jr. * 
1988-1989 Charles B. Morgan * 
1989-1990 Billy E. Hightower * 
1990-1991 David H. Peterson
1991-1992 Col. E. Graham Martin, Jr. * 
1992-1993 T. David Yeilding
1993-1994 Col. Delbert M. Fowler * 
1994-1995 Dr. William N. Floyd, Jr.
1995-1996 C. R. Harrington * 
1996-1997 Ross L. Shipman * 
1997-1998 B. Rice Aston * 
1998-1999 Robert W. Coker * 
1999-2000 Frank A. Gibson  * 
2000-2001 Richard F. Arnold
2001-2002 Nathan E. White, Jr. * 
2002-2003 James G. Robertson * 
2003-2004 Richard L. Robinett * 
2004-2005 W. Roy Adams, Jr. * 
2005-2006 James E. Heath * 
2006-2007 Thomas B. Green, III
2007-2008 George T. West
2008-2009 Harry M. Fife, Jr.
2009-2010 Tom Lawrence * 
2010-2011 James T. Jones Jr.
2011-2012 William M. Marrs
2012-2013 Robert M. Clark
2013-2014 Stephen W. Rohrbough
2014-2015 Robert S. Cohen
2015-2016 Larry G. Stevens
2016-2017 Michael J. Radcliff


flag line

This content comes from a hidden element on this page.

The inline option preserves bound JavaScript events and changes, and it puts the content back where it came from when it is closed.

Click me, it will be preserved!

If you try to open a new Colorbox while it is already open, it will update itself with the new content.

Updating Content Example:
Click here to load new content